Posted by: Josef Korbel School, Office of Graduate Admissions | October 12, 2011

NYC > DC

Well, it’s week 5. The quarter is halfway over, which is both good and bad. Good because I’m that much closer to graduation and bad because the procrastination fairy is still wreaking havoc with my well-laid plans for paper writing. I have 2 shorter papers (8-10 pages) due week 8, which means I really should be farther along than I currently am (for example, I should have at least found a few sources by now – yikes!). Especially since Halloween is week 8 and therefore the weekend immediately prior is not going to be available for my usual frantic last-minute writing – gotta party it up downtown since I have an awesome costume! (Yes, I am aware that my priorities might be a little misaligned.)

But on to more important things, like jobs – the reason all of us are here and why you’re thinking of joining us! I’ve already started browsing organization websites and sites such as Idealist.org for open positions. I think it’s still a bit too early to apply, but I’m trying to get a feel for what’s out there and what I should be doing now to prepare. One of my friends who graduated in June started her job search last November and ended up being offered a position that started in May. Fortunately, Korbel allows you to use up to 15 credits (or 3 classes) of independent study, so she was able to move to Boston in April and start working while finishing up her last 15 credits to graduate.  I’m going to follow her example and hope for similar results.

Part of my job search plan includes going to NYC at the end of November for a networking trip. Our career office organizes trips to NYC, DC, and Boston every year for the purpose of allowing students to visit the headquarters of various NGOs, think tanks, and U.S. government agencies and network with Korbel alumni that work at each location. A lot of first year students go on the trips to look for internship opportunities, but I’m hoping for job leads. 🙂 Most people seem to think primarily of DC when considering an education and career in international affairs, but the truth is that this field allows you to study and work all over the U.S.  I don’t want to work for the government and I’m not particularly interested in living in DC, so I’ve decided to skip the DC trip. Most of the major human rights organizations (Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch, International Rescue Committee, etc.) are headquartered in NYC so it seemed like a great idea to go. Plus, I love New York and this is a great excuse to visit the city again. As for the Boston trip, I’m not sure yet – that trip isn’t until March, so I have some time to decide.

Баяртай

Leave a Reply

Categories

