Posted by: Josef Korbel School, Office of Graduate Admissions | September 20, 2011

Hello internship, goodbye social life!

I finally have an internship! Huzzah! While most of my fellow 2nd year students completed their internships this summer, I (in my usual way) procrastinated and didn’t apply for a single one. Don’t be like me. But anyway, in yet another example of how important connections are to your career, my friend and former colleague Clifton Martin (and fellow blogger) referred me to the non-profit organization where he interned this summer and suggested that I send in my resume. While the organization isn’t a human rights organization per se, the position is similar to what I’ve been doing for the admissions office this past year and yet different enough that I’ll learn several new skills and build on ones I’ve been developing. In my opinion, that will be far more important in the upcoming job search than whether or not the organization is billed as a “human rights” org. So I sent them my resume, got an interview, and was offered the position! It was that simple. I feel very lucky, because I know most people have to apply to dozens of places before landing an internship and this one pretty much fell in my lap.

The big downside of this internship is how much it’s going to add to my workload and take away from my study time. I currently work 20 hours a week in the admissions office. I’ll be working about 15-20 hours a week at my internship, including some stuff at home. This means that I’ll have a lot less time for school work than I normally would, and the already-stressful last 3 weeks of each quarter are likely to be upgraded to absolutely hellish. I keep telling myself that there are only 9 weeks left in the quarter, so no matter how stressful it gets it’ll be over fairly quickly. I won’t have a life for the next couple months, but I’ll survive. I hope.

In other news, I applied for the NYC Career Connections trip today. Every year, our Office of Career and Professional Development hosts trips to NYC, Boston, and Washington, D.C. They set up informational interviews with Korbel alumni and other representatives from dozens of international NGOs and government agencies and while you only spend 3 days in each city, they pack those 3 days full of as many appointments and visits as possible. It’s nice because you don’t have to go to all 3 – you can pick just one or two, and it’s cheap – there’s a $115 program fee, but that’s all the school charges. You’re on your own for flights and lodging, but I’d much rather find my own (really cheap) flights and hotels than be forced to pay for whatever they came up with. I’ve decided to skip the D.C. trip and I’m still not sure about Boston. I really have zero desire to live or work in D.C. or work for the government, so there’s not much point in spending the money to go on the trip. However, New York City has a lot of human rights organizations headquartered there (e.g., Human Rights Watch, Amnesty International, UNICEF, International Rescue Committee) and I’d love to live there. I’ll find out October 7th if I’ve been chosen to go. Can’t wait! 🙂

สวัสดี

Leave a Reply

Categories

