Posted by: Josef Korbel School, Office of Graduate Admissions | February 22, 2011

Some things change and some stay the same

It’s the middle of week 8, which means in less than two weeks I need to submit two 20-25 page papers and do one group presentation.  Have I started on any of them?  Nah.  Should I be way more concerned about this than I actually am?  Yep, probably.  Sigh.  So much for last quarter’s pledge to not put off writing my papers until the last week…. but what can I say?  Procrastination is apparently an immutable part of my DNA.  But enough about me… big things are happening at Korbel!

First, as some of you may have already heard, the Master’s in Development Practice program has been suspended.  Everyone who applied to that program has been notified that they have the option of switching to a different program or having their application fee refunded.  This has caused quite an uproar, not only with applicants but also with current MDP students who are facing the very real possibility that they will be the only ones to ever receive an MDP degree from the Josef Korbel School.  Eek.

Second, I know you all are anxiously awaiting your admissions decisions.  They’re coming soon!  Yep, yep… I can’t give you an exact date (because I don’t know what it is), but I can tell you that your wait is nearly over.  Hooray!  With that said, PLEASE don’t bombard our office with phone calls/emails asking if you were admitted or not.  We can’t and won’t tell you until all the decisions are made and sent out.  For those of you who are still gathering your application materials, I suggest you get a move on.  The incoming cohort is filling up quickly and you don’t want to be left out in the cold.

Finally, our office is in the midst of planning the Discover Korbel event for admitted students.  It will be April 7th and 8th, and I STRONGLY suggest that you attend if you can.  I went last year and I had a great time.  I’ll leave my DK plug at that for now because I’m going to preach about it more as it gets closer to April, but mark your calendars!

Totsiens!

Leave a Reply

Categories

