Posted by: Josef Korbel School, Office of Graduate Admissions | February 8, 2011

brr.

It’s cold.  Really cold.  When I walked to school this morning it was 6 degrees.  Which is way too cold for someone who grew up next to the beach in California and went to college in Hawaii.  I’ve been resisting wearing thermals or leggings under my jeans, but this morning I finally caved.  I can’t say I’m enjoying the strange feeling of wearing two pairs of pants at the same time, especially now that I’m inside and overheating.  Sigh.  Cold weather is no fun.  But last week we had our very first snow day of the season!  The university was closed for the evening on Monday and all day Tuesday, so I got to miss work and my International Criminal Law class.  It snowed quite a bit last night and many of us were hopeful that we’d get another snow day, but no such luck.  On the bright side, it’s supposed to be close to 60 degrees on Sunday. 😀  Denver weather is so strange.

As for school, we’re in the middle of week 6 and so far this quarter has been less stressful than the last one.  I’m actually able to keep up with all of my readings and still have time left over to cool my brain with mindless television.  I’m enjoying my International Criminal Law and International Campaign Management classes quite a bit and learning a lot.  Not only is the Campaign Management class really interesting, it’s the first one I’ve taken that will leave me with quantifiable skills that I did not previously have.  The International Criminal Law course is providing me with a very useful background knowledge in the international legal system and international laws regarding war crimes, genocide, and crimes against humanity.  The disappointment this quarter is Politics of Deeply Divided Societies.  It’s an elective for me and I took it because it sounded interesting, but to quote one of my classmates, “I thought it would be based on more than just common sense.  But maybe that’s too much to ask from a graduate-level course.”   Harsh, but regrettably true. 😦

It’s nearing the time that I’ll have to start buckling down and writing papers, but fortunately I’ve found a spot that’s perfect for studying.  The law library.  Beautiful building!  Always quiet!  No undergrads!  Comfy chairs!  A cafe!  Yep, it’s just about perfect, with one tiny inconvenience– no wireless internet unless you’re a law student.  Boo.  So as long as you have actual books to read/study, you’re all set.  This quarter my big papers are going to be on the conflict in Côte d’Ivoire and the gacaca courts in Rwanda (see? definitely leaning toward Africa these days), and I’m especially excited about the gacaca paper– fascinating subject (yes, I’m a nerd).

Okie doke.  Time to get back to work.

Até a vista!

Leave a Reply

Categories

